Google Code In? What, Why & How? , from 17 y/o Global Contribution Winner

Piyush Raj ~ Rex
4 min readJan 27, 2018

--

UPDATE : I won the contest, I’m or say was the Google Code-In 2017 Contribution Winner.

Stay tuned as I will do a write up that will go probably something like “How I won Google Code-In and How can you?

Stay Tunedtwitter/@0x48piraj facebook/@0x48piraj

I’ll love the gesture of suggesting a better title, by mentioning me on twitter! I will be happy crediting you :)

Google Code-in (GCI) is an annual programming competition hosted by Google Inc. that allows pre-university students to complete tasks specified by various, partnering open source organizations. The contest was originally the Google Highly Open Participation Contest, but in 2010, the format was modified into its current state. Students that complete tasks win certificates and T-shirts. Each organization also selects two grand prize award winners who will earn a trip to Google’s Headquarters located in Mountain View, California. ~Wikipedia

Google Code-In

Students? Organizations? How it works? = About | FAQ?

Yeah! We all have read that.

Oops…

Who am I and why am I writing this?

I’m a just turned 17 year old punk …

Okay, Speaking in the context, I’m core contributor, and Project Creator / Maintainer in FOSSASIA and active member of some more Open Source Organisations. I just got addicted to Open Source. The Drug which caused this was “Github’s Hacktoberfest”.

Oh Boy, Did I forget to tell you that I participated in Google Code-In ‘17 for the very first time (and sadly, the last time too) and won!?

Small Note : FOSSASIA receives the largest number of applications, this organisation received “GCI Organisation for most number of tasks completed” Also, the Grand-Prize Winners became my friends and I found that they participate every year in FOSSASIA. (for consecutive 4 years & 3 years in a row!)

I was the first timer and became the Contribution Winner ❤

I’m also the student who, in some weeks, worked more than Elon Musk. Yep. ≥ 100 hours (To be precise, ~108, ~101 and~112 Hours)

Umm.., bragging ?…

It’s not bragging if you can back it up. — Muhammad Ali

P.S. I got scolded by the Google Code-In Team and FOSSASIA’s Founder for burning myself. ❤

So …?

Oh yeah, Sorry.
So, Google Code-In is a kick-ass contest to win a T-Shirt.
Just kidding, Actually, It’s a great platform to meet Smart people, Get exposed, Learn new things and technologies which you can’t learn in High School (probably), Learn about collaboration, Implement and execute your ideas, Loading your Arsenal with new guns and launchers, Firing code in the wild, and finding future Co-Founders? (Opportunities are just endless … You got me by now, right? :p )

Okay, “What” just got finished, Now … Why ?

Umm.. Why not?

If you’re like me, It doesn’t makes any sense! Why not !!

See, I’m coding since 9.

Okay, in those days, I searched terms like “How to Hack facebook, gmail, … Orkut?” and by end of the year, tested all “fb Hacker v.0.x

I actually started programming at ~10–11. From then, I’m filling my Hard Drive with ideas, mini-blogs, scripts and programs (you got the picture). I just realized, If at that time, I heard about Google Code-In or similar contests or at least Github, Well… Leave it! ;)

For me, It was like finding a four leaf clover. I betcha, It was.

Gave me Inner Peace

Yeah, It’s “How” Time …

By reading “FOSSASIA Code-In Grand Prize Winners Gathering at Google Headquarter”. Yeah, Simple.

And, After that, I started exploring. I found Github Hacktoberfest and then came GCI. (Google Code-In ~GCI)

I can go on, but I think, I should probably concentrate on the “Story title”.😊

What’s Next?

This article is an attempt to help you all out there, that are willing to get started with Google Code-In and Open Source. It’s an experience to what I felt and I hope to write more stuff and find better ways to help and to inspire you all. (If not “all”, “few” will be good too :P)

I don’t know how you will react to this article, so make yourself comfortable to ask me on Twitter or Facebook as 0x48piraj.

Depending on the reaction and questions I receive I might write a more simple of more robust article, going into details or moving forward to other topics.

ask me on Twitter or Facebook as @0x48piraj

--

--

Piyush Raj ~ Rex

Google Code-In C. Winner. GsOCer ‘19. Independent Security Researcher. Have hacked Medium, Mozilla, Opera & many more. Personal Website: https://0x48piraj.com